SAPLING #72 — Overtones

Kirstin Vanlierde
The Story Hall
Published in
2 min readDec 11, 2019
© Jurgen Walschot

Shall we agree that you get lost and I come to find you?

Let’s hit the pavement and play hide and seek between the cracks, skip a few lives and reappear in a different time. There is no winning this game. All we ever do, is catch the other coming from a different angle, like actors in a comedy of errors, only a serious one.

Sometimes, all is dark. Then again, the image is exposed. In the meantime, the story continues. The first one to blink has missed something already.

Between us, we have no need to explain that every encounter carries an echo. And in that space, a web of ever more richly woven connections quivering, overtones resonating and arching like domes, harmonies swelling with every chord.

Do land, for one long moment, lit up like an icon, a cliché. Feel how the deepest foundations bear new structures, again and again.

Entangle our fingers. I love to dig deep. You challenge me to rise above myself. From the gallery, I whisper about wings airborne. You stretch your feathers.

Let’s keep this light. Shall we agree that I get lost and you come to find me?

The SAPLING series is a joint project with artist and illustrator Jurgen Walschot.
Saplings are creative sprouts. I will write to the images, he will draw to the words.

--

--

Kirstin Vanlierde
The Story Hall

Walker between worlds, writer, artist, weaver of magic