kaustuv ghosh
The Story Hall
Published in
1 min readAug 25, 2020

--

Life, Sliced. Or A Brief Tale At The Bus Stop.

Photo by Edvin Johansson on Unsplash

My stick sits limply between my fingers, unlit,

While the world drips from the newspaper

Damp on the synthetic seat, wet from the wait

For the bus which passes every five minutes

Over the road where once there were streams,

From before there was a city named for lions,

That came down from low hills, now grassy verges.

Standing just outside the shelter is a nice notion,

Being the broadminded sort, I don’t mind the water

Splashing on my bald head-

It takes away fractions of the ache splitting my brain

After watching the same reruns again and again.

Perhaps I should never get on the bus at all.

Perhaps I should just sit here and watch the dogs

Play ball, the odd job men from across the border

Fly by on two wheels to fix whatever is broken

For whoever with the means and the couples push

Their prams past Indonesian gardeners tending to verges

That were once green hills from which streams fell.

--

--