Thank You

My Gratitude Bubbles Over

Hawkeye Pete Egan B.
The Story Hall
4 min readNov 28, 2019

--

Sunset on the Potomac, photo by me last weekend at Loyola Retreat House

Culmination of a Month of Gratitude

And so, it’s come to this. Thanksgiving Day, a day to give thanks for all the people, the circumstances, the love, the opportunities and just for this day, today, just another day in my recovery journey. But, since today is, and always has been, the most important day of that journey, today is the only day I’ve got. And, man, am I thankful for it!

That said, I have been practicing gratitude all month, so the gratitude flows easily and effortlessly for me on this day. November has evolved to be a month in which I get so many reminders for what I am thankful for, by the time Thanksgiving Day rolls around, I’m brimming over with it.

This month began with the team I’ve been following for 15 years winning the unlikeliest of championships, so it was off to a great start. I went to 41 games their first season in town. I raced with the presidents. I sang the national anthem before their games. Now, along with a city that hadn’t seen a baseball championship in 95 years, and didn’t even have a team for 33 years, I got to savor the joy of a championship. It was wonderful!

Loyola last weekend, photo by me

Thanksgiving Bursts Through My Heart

My morning affirmation said it perfectly (from Science of Mind magazine) — “Thanksgiving bursts through my heart and into the world today. There is an abundance of good for me to give thanks for.”

There truly is. I am thankful for accountability, both in my own life and in the life of my country. This month gave me a great deal of hope for our future. Need I say more? I’ll just leave that there.

People and Stuff

More than anything, I am thankful for the people in my life. We made a big move a couple months ago, and for a little while there, I felt like I was getting just a tad lost in the transition. It seems I’d spent months packing, then unpacking, my entire world. I definitely am a “stuff” person, I like to save things, to remind me of times and places and people.

In a move like this, you wind up relooking at all the stuff, to decide whether to keep it or discard it. We did get rid of a lot of stuff in the move — but probably brought a lot more than we really needed to. However, when you’re moving to a place with nearly twice the space, it’s a little harder to make those hard decisions, because there’s plenty of room for it all.

Loyola, last year, photo by me

So, yes, I have gone down a rabbit hole or two of past reflections, going through all this stuff. Getting settled into a new area, trying to find my place in recovery rooms, took longer than I’d expected. (Geez, a whole month! Patience has never been my strong suit). But, perhaps impatience served me well, in this case. It forced me to try something completely different, and that wound up leading me right to where I belong. Funny how that stuff works.

Thanks for My Friends

Now, I’ve made a few new friends who feel like they’ll be a part of my life for a long time to come. I had an opportunity to hang out with some of my older friends from up in Vienna this past weekend, and I have a few more coming down to hang out here in a couple of weeks. Our son is here to celebrate Thanksgiving with us.

I’m reminded of one of my favorite songs, an Elton John number, Friends.

Making friends for the world to see
Let the people know that you’ve got what you need
With a friend at hand, then you will see the light
When your friends are there then everything’s alright.

And, so it is. I’ve got my friends, I’ve got my family, and we’ve gotten settled into our new home. Today, everything feels alright with the world.

Happy Thanksgiving to all of my American friends and family, and to all my friends and family who are not American, know that on this day, as on all days, I am really thankful you are a part of my life. I feel so blessed and lucky to be connected to you all. You are all a part of me, and I you.

Thanks!

--

--

Hawkeye Pete Egan B.
The Story Hall

Connecting the dots. Storytelling helps me to make sense of this world, and of my life. I love writing and reading. Writing is like breathing, for me.