The cage that you cling to

Kirstin Vanlierde
The Story Hall
Published in
1 min readApr 26, 2017

SAPLING #6

Flying is easy, you tell me.

You just unfold your wings. The wind and your desire for the horizon will take care of the rest.

© Jurgen Walschot

But what if I have my wings strapped to my sides, clipped by too much frightened care, their feathers gnawed down to the shafts in despair?

What if my wings have become transparent like dreams and the wind blows right through them?

You smile as you look up at the sky at the magpies, diving and ascending like acrobats airborne, with the sunlight piercing their feathers.

You tell me, what if the bars of the cage that you cling to are transparent, too?

The SAPLING series is a joint project with artist and illustrator Jurgen Walschot.
Saplings are creative sprouts. I will write to the images, he will draw to the words.

--

--

Kirstin Vanlierde
The Story Hall

Walker between worlds, writer, artist, weaver of magic