The Clap

Susan G Holland
The Story Hall
Published in
2 min readAug 22, 2017

a peaceful demonstration

The “recommend” icon has been replaced, as you may have noticed, by the icon of two hands clapping.

Aside from my snide reference to another use for “the clap” word, I would like to weigh in with my two cents.

Quantity has nothing to do with quality. I mean many Bing Cherries are not better than a dish-ful. You know what happens.

I think I will abstain from claps, and instead either leave a comment, or send a private message to those whose work strikes me as comment-able. I am on a clap fast, in other words.

One of the things that irritates me about Facebook is the provocative “like” system. I get it, and like it, when someone “likes” a post. But there are “viral posts” that gather millions of likes and are featured because of it. Really!

How to get famous? Say something so spectacular that it gets a million likes.

If fame is your chief goal, then this game is right for you.

When I write, I am trying to communicate with anyone (is there anyone out there?) who catches my drift. Just one or two or several people can do the same for me as Mega-likes may do for those who long to be news-worthy. (Bad news, good news — anything works for some people.)

Not all of us long to be rock stars.

We just want to communicate.

I’m going to comment or private message rather than clapping, folks.

You will know when I mean that I applaud your writing.

Respectfully, Susan G Holland

--

--

Susan G Holland
The Story Hall

Student of life; curious always. Tyler School of Fine Art, and a couple of years’ worth of computer coding and design, plus 87 years of discovery. Now in WA