The river

Kirstin Vanlierde
The Story Hall
Published in
2 min readFeb 19, 2018
© KV

I am on the river. It is broad and powerful, its wide flow taking me to a place that feels like the sea, an estuary that resonates like home.

I know my inner compass is true, but there is no real way for me to navigate my little vessel. All I can do, is trust the current, and its reasons for taking me first one place, and then another. An outer bend. A sand bank. A series of rapids. They are mine to accept, and to survive.
My trust in the river is immense. This is what it feels like to be on your life’s journey. Every sudden turn of the tides will carry another insight, every instant stuck in the muck will teach perseverance — or acceptance.

© KV

I have been experiencing some rapids, lately. I will write about them very soon.
But for now, temporarily, there is a lull in the flow, a moment of indecision, a forced pause. I try to experience it as reprieve. I don’t always succeed. For my little boat has tasted the bigger flow of the maternal stream and wants to move on, on, on…

I can only try to smile at myself, gently pat my tiny boat, and fix my eyes upon the horizon.
High tides are coming. I will be afloat again in no time.

© KV

--

--

Kirstin Vanlierde
The Story Hall

Walker between worlds, writer, artist, weaver of magic