The road ahead

Kirstin Vanlierde
The Story Hall
Published in
2 min readFeb 10, 2019
© KV

Something is shifting.
Whether it summons either a subtle calibration or a landslide is impossible to tell at this point. Personally, I’m guessing it will be something of both.

It’s not unlike what I have been doing these days: getting to know a new photography program to perfect my images.
You already knew the basics, but this new toy opens up a whole new world of possibilities. Colours are more outspoken, contrasts are sharper. You can feel the call of something holding a promise. You want to dive into it, go for it full speed. It feels like coming home.

First attempt enhancing a picture, taken in very poor light conditions… Grateful to the winged visitor who was willing to linger for a few seconds… © KV

Growing gills, that’s what I called it in Sapling #48. And that is basically what it feels like. Who knows: I might grow fins, too… In any case: I am starting to prepare for life in quite a different environment. This is not even an entirely conscious choice. A part of me has long taken off its shoes and has walked out into the water. All I need to do now, is dive for real.

I am certain I am not the only one who has been hearing the call of new horizons and possibilities. For the world is at a tipping point. From old to new, from cynical to committed, from business-as-usual to hope for the future.

I don’t know whether hope is by any means enough. But it is so much better than despair.

Confucius said it, ages ago: ‘It’s better to light one candle than to rage against the darkness.’
Wherever I find myself, I will keep on lighting the candle.

So now: bring on the future.
This is the road that lies ahead. There is no other.

© KV

--

--

Kirstin Vanlierde
The Story Hall

Walker between worlds, writer, artist, weaver of magic