The Slow Dance

Jeff Bailey
The Story Hall
Published in
2 min readSep 6, 2017
Jeff Bailey © 2017

Although I promised myself never to do it again, by my volition, convinced that cheap and convenient were sound reasons, I went into The Dollar Store. All the way to the back at the end of the center Isle sitting on the top shelve to my left sat the prize — A large container of antiseptic wipes. Holding over 100 sheets, it was way cheaper than the smaller containers providing 33 sheets and in less than 3 minutes I stood at the check-out counter second in line. Dash in dash out was the plan.

In front of me, the customer’s credit card failed half a dozen times but her spirits remained hopeful. I lean toward and quietly suggested giving the machine a good wrap; she turned and laughed. The clerk informed all those standing within earshot that the machine wasn’t working and the three employees behind the counter responded in a cappella, “Not again!” My mission was going off script. I switch lines and instead of being second in line I was now fourth but the line was moving.

I had one item to buy and the woman next in line offered to let me go ahead of her, I counted four items in her basket and graciously declined her offer. My schedule was already running behind another minute wouldn’t matter; she placed her items on the counter and the clerk checked them through.

“That will be twenty-four dollars.” She grimaced and objected, that wasn’t the expected total. She had two of each item thinking there was a two for one sale and although she had selected the right brand, it was not the item covered in the sale. Not surprisingly, the clerk was insensitive to her embarrassment and asked loudly “Did you bring the coupons?” She hadn’t but I wondered, what difference would that have made?

Too many pressures aligned at once for just trying to save a buck. The advertisement was probably confusing, need to stretch the dollar overrode common sense, the woman embarrassed for making the mistake and to top it off the clerk was oblivious and insensitive. All these factors converged as the eye of society scrutinized her flare of irritation and applauded her later emotional restraint.

#minidramas #quietlittletown #southwestermaine.

--

--