The Witness

San Cassimally
The Story Hall
Published in
2 min readApr 28, 2018

Judge: Call Witness A.

Judge wielding gavel

Witness A is ushered in, and takes a seat.

Judge: Now, take your time, and tell us about the incident that took place on the night of the 25th of March. In your own words.

The scales of justice

Witness: I was quietly walking home from the cinema, minding my own business when the accused stopped me.

Prosecution Attorney: How did he do that. Tell the court.

Witness: He stood in front of me barring my route.

Prosecution: Was that all he did?

Witness: No, your honour, he grabbed me by the throat and asked me to give him all my money.

Prosecution Attorney: And did you.

Witness: Aye, I did. All the money I had on me.

Prosecution Attorney: Was that all? Did he then go away? Answer his lordship.

Witness: No sir. After he took the money, he slapped me quite hard on the face.

Prosecution Attorney: And then he went away, right?

Witness: No sir, I fell on the ground.

Prosecution Attorney: He left you there and went his way?

Witness: No sir, he began kicking me hard. In the back, in the groin, in my face. I was bleeding, and I had broken a rib.

Prosecution Attorney: And then he went away.

Witness bursts into tears.

Judge Answer the question… take your time.

Prosecution Attorney: In your own words.

Witness: (Through tears) I… (sobs) … I cannot go on.

Judge: But you must. Or I will hold you in contempt of court.

Witness: (Makes a great effort to calm down) And then, my lord, he … he … called me motherfucker!

(Is that a paraprosdokian?)

--

--

San Cassimally
The Story Hall

Prizewinning playwright. Mathematician. Teacher. Professional Siesta addict.