There Once Was a Place

Hawkeye Pete Egan B.
The Story Hall
Published in
3 min readMar 1, 2018

What a blessing it was, for those of us who were fortunate enough to find it, or perhaps to be found by it. If someone had tried to describe it to me before I showed up there one day, I wouldn’t have been able to comprehend what they were trying to explain, as I had never experienced anything quite like it.

I should have known, when my executive coach, Maureen, mentioned it to me, that it was potentially a life-changer. Maureen just had this knack of steering me into life-changing directions as a coach, or at least to walk along beside me while I was in the middle of life-changing events and experiences, with wise words, understanding, and sharing in the joys and struggles of whatever it was I was going through. She got me, a very intuitive individual, always with just the right words to open up my clouded vision.

All she did was point me in the direction of that place. I was much too busy to check it out for about a week after she told me about it. When I got there, I had to request permission to enter. That took another day or two, and then a few more days before I noticed the email granting me permission to enter. That was back in the days when they actually screened who entered, making sure they were there for the right reasons.

Once I got on and looked around, it was like catching a bug, only it was a creative bug, and something inside my brain just opened up, and my soul poured through it. Words came rushing out, in many forms and fashions, and pictures to go along with the words had to be found, some that made sense, some that didn’t, but it didn’t matter. It all made the finished product that much more interesting.

They billed themselves as the most beautiful storytelling site in the world, and this storyteller believed it. He still does.

Cowbird. What a trip! A year ago today, we posted our final stories there — and then, it became just a beautiful memory. A year later, that memory still lingers. I doubt I will ever forget the five wonderful years I got swept up into the Cowbird community. Definitely a life-changer.

Story Hall has certainly been a comfort and a fine place, in itself, for those of us that simply couldn’t turn the storytelling spigot off. Thank God we have this place to gather, and tell the stories we stumble across as we live our lives. The threads that found us, and bound us together on Cowbird, continue to draw us together, to share in the love and beauty of a story well told.

I am so glad you guys and gals are here. Yes, I still miss the ‘Bird — but, I do dearly love the ‘Hall. Let the stories continue…

--

--

Hawkeye Pete Egan B.
The Story Hall

Connecting the dots. Storytelling helps me to make sense of this world, and of my life. I love writing and reading. Writing is like breathing, for me.