“This Way Today”

Soulez Chille
The Story Hall
Published in
2 min readSep 23, 2017

While on my way to work, “this way today” are the words I hear from that voice within, echoing from my gut to my hands on the steering wheel . It is a voice I have become accustomed to, and over time of which I have become more respectful and obedient. It never disappoints, so as I veer to the left onto Small Mountain Road, I wonder what life’s moment is ahead.

Within a quarter of a mile along this rustic country road, there she stood. Still as a statue, she stares, right through my Soul to my soul. I notice her coat has turned from golden to cocoa brown for the seasons ahead. Instead of making a graceful exit to the left or right, she continues to stand as I approach.

She allows me into her personal space. She sees right into my very essence with that stare, those eyes. She seems to know I believe that her species is the most beautiful to behold, that I have felt that way since a young child and it was then I chose the name of Running Deer. Sixty seconds or so passed as we shared, then she leapt to the left and I moved beyond that moment to live the rest of the day.

She stared through my Soul to my soul while surrounded by orbs. Please no explanation of the orbs — allow me my imagination.

--

--