This woo woo

Jeff Bailey
The Story Hall
Published in
3 min readDec 13, 2017
Jeff Bailey © 2017

woo woo

Unfounded or ludicrous beliefs

Belief in talking to the dead, belief in telekinesis, in fact, any belief not founded on good evidence, the poorer the evidence the more Woo Woo the belief.

I heard the term woo-woo used when a comparison was being drawn between vendors of a holiday psychic fair and those of a holiday mystic fair. My wife and I have attended both fairs and, in my opinion, neither is more or less woo-woo than the other.

On Sunday, we attended a holiday fair called Community Awakening at the Ramada Hotel in Lewiston Maine. The vendors ranged from energy workers, gemstone dealers, Tarot reading mediums to our business, Soul Path Art. We are testing the waters and these waters are shallow. Using art as my wife instructs, to explore one’s self through painting on a canvas is in the category of not being very woo-woo for such a crowd.

The guy selling minerals across the aisle from us and the couple peddling an all natural, organic, indigenously farmed ingredients health product, at the end of the aisle is definitely not woo-woo. But, the medium who sits directly behind me is. From where I sit, I can’t help but hear her voice as she channels a spirit who is speaking through her to the paying client. She sounds different when in and out of the trance state. It sounded to me that when the spirit communicated through her, it wasn’t concerned with common speech patterns. From the perspective of the observer, it looked to be 100% woo-woo.

Vendors lay claim to being intuitive, spirit mediums, or energy workers, and who is to say they are not and who is to say they are? Outside of personal experience, the existence of this spirit is difficult to quantify objectively, much like the existence of God. When pomp and circumstance are stripped away, belief in God is serious woo-woo.

Last year, enlightenment seekers were lining up at the door, eager to find relief from their daily concerns but that didn’t happen this year. This year, the Community Awakening event started off with a profound silence. By the looks of the parking lot, the fair was packed. Unfortunately and puzzlingly, the vendors chose to park nearest the event entrance. I park away from the entrance because I want the path of least resistance for a paying customer. The event is called Community Awakening and the vendors are asleep.

Disregard for the customer is unfathomable. Why hadn’t the event director enforced a vendor parking restriction? Why were the vendors oblivious to customer convenience? These are thoughts going through my mind as we unloaded and I parked a good distance away. Crappy parking and poor vendor attitude will certainly prevent sales, so, after we set up, I left to pick up some sandwiches and improve my outlook.

The short drive to the sandwich shop is what I needed and when I returned a few customers were milling around. The day gradually improved and we made a few unexpected connections.

Soul Path Art and Larissa Davis

The elephant draws people in. Most people are genuinely astonished when they find out the 5' x7' elephant was Larissa’s first art project in years and took her only two weeks from conception to finish.

--

--