To the Special New Follower:

Susan G Holland
The Story Hall
Published in
2 min readNov 4, 2018

SGHolland ©2018

Introduce yourself to some openhearted experts, and let them teach you.

I know why my “stats” are showing a huge upsurge, dear old friend.
You have learned to sort through the Medium.com archives to find out all about what I might have written that will fill in 60 years of incommunicado.

And you will find a lot, as you have discovered. Because I breathe out words quite often and “cast them on the waters”, in case anyone might want to hear them. And you wanted to.

Just know, dear old friend, that it was some of that bread on the waters that led you to finding me, despite a “screen name” and some messing around with the bread-crumb trail, and because you “took a chance.”

Can it be that you have churned through my writings as much as you have, by now, in real time also churned through my audible spoken words? We have had such significant words, you and I, joyfully and poignantly, laughingly and tearfully, connecting and knotting back together threads that stretch from 1956 to 2018. What a trip! Our grown-up selves who know each other!

Two eighty-year-olds with incredibly rich lives now having a “jam session” — jazz and country music, bee bop and ballads,love songs, tacit oldies and brash all-out beltings of newer songs with and without words — we are kids in a candy store, and old folks over a worn chess board all at the same time. Our hearts were beating loud and clear in completely separate worlds! Now we are in sync!

Thank you for teasing me out. Twice, because at first I didn’t see your few cautious words. I know that it was a labor of love. We are purposefully stretching our relentless investigations into all the collected crannies of our two lives now. Touching, without fear or guile or guilt, the secrets that are hiding in each others’ brains somewhere. Astonishing! And it is so miraculous to have company. So really unusual, I believe, to have this rich banquet on our table today. Now.

love, “Sue”

SGH©2018

--

--

Susan G Holland
The Story Hall

Student of life; curious always. Tyler School of Fine Art, and a couple of years’ worth of computer coding and design, plus 87 years of discovery. Now in WA