Totality

jtc
The Story Hall
Published in
1 min readSep 4, 2017

I saw a solar eclipse. And for the briefest of moments in the middle of the day, it was night.

It’s oncoming confused the natural world around us, including ourselves. The cicadas woke up from their slumber and joined in on their nightly choir with the crickets and the frogs. I saw a bat fly overhead. My wife turned to me and said, “I feel weird.”

And just as the peculiarity of the moment onset, it broke into beautiful specter. In the sky sat a dark orb, the moon, crowned with solar flare. A view liked never experienced. A view which is never given justice in photograph.

The moment passed so quickly, the experience so brief that it could not be grasped fully. So fleeting that it only left you time to linger in its memory.

People drove hours and hours for that minute and a half. Though brief, it was one of those moments that will remain with your thought across a lifetime.

--

--