Unveiling the Surprising Connection Between Kindness and Proper Etiquette at the Swimming Pool

Ed Springer
The Story Hall
Published in
2 min readApr 2, 2023
Photo by Jeremy Morris on Unsplash

I make it a point to swim three times a week. It is my fitness routine. On days when I access the spa and steam room, the receptionist gives me a disposable wristband that looks like the picture below.

Sometimes, the receptionist, who’s usually a lady, will offer to put it on for me since it’s tough to do it with one hand.

On my way out, I swing by the receptionist to grab a pair of scissors to cut off the wristband.

My mother always taught me to give scissors to someone holding them by the handle, not the blade. Apparently, that’s the proper way to do it.

If you are handing it over as you see below, it is apparently not the proper way.

https://www.pxfuel.com/en/free-photo-jzlxo (Source)

Interestingly, the receptionist hands me the scissors both ways depending on who’s working that day.

But what I’ve noticed is that the people who offer to put the wristband on for me always give me the scissors correctly.

It’s funny how kindness and good manners always seem to go hand in hand, isn’t it?

--

--

Ed Springer
The Story Hall

Dad. Husband. Friend. Mate.Son. Curious about the business of tech. Passionate about photography. Student of life.