Waiting in the Rain

Glenda Lynne
The Story Hall

--

I have

Outlived

The often busy party line phone

(Number please? Listening to others’ conversations.)

The dial phone

(The “Princess” model would never hang up)

The pager

(Hanging on a belt. Somebody needs you.)

The car phone

(Way too rich for my blood)

And six models of iPhones.

I have

Outlived

The 78, 45, and 33 1/3 rpm recordings,

Reel to reel, 8 track boxes, cassette tape players,

And even most CDs.

I have

Outlived

Radios

The black and white tv,

Rabbit ears,

Spinning, falling, rooftop antennas,

The Betamax and VHS format war,

And countless gaming systems.

I have

Outlived

Two of three husbands,

A beloved sweetheart of ten plus years,

All of my best high school friends,

And, tragically, one of my cherished granddaughters.

I have

Even,

In some peculiar ways,

Outlived myself.

I do not know

This body,

This face,

This hair,

This fragility,

That seems to creep into my every day life.

And yet…

I have NOT

Outlived

This planet.

The sun, the moon, and the stars

The earth, the flora and fauna

The seas, the deserts, and mountains

Which all calm my soul and stay my path.

And keep me company

As I am

Waiting,

Quietly waiting

In the rain.

--

--