Wake up

Hawkeye Pete Egan B.
The Story Hall
Published in
2 min readJan 27, 2018
My backyard swim-spa

I was taking a long ride with some friends, thinking we were going to this place for the day, only to find out we were going for the whole weekend. I was not prepared for this — I hadn’t brought a change of clothes (I was wearing a suit, for some reason!), I hadn’t cleared it with my wife, and I was stuck. I couldn’t find my phone, and my friend hadn’t brought his.

At this point, we were swimming, it was some kind of huge water park, and I was swimming in my suit pants. It was very frustrating because they didn’t seem to care about my dilemma, it was all about the good time they were having, but I knew it was not going to be a good time for me.

I couldn’t believe they hadn’t told me it was going to be a whole weekend thing, but their attitude was, “Ah, get over it, man. You’ll be alright. Just enjoy it.” I had no way of getting hold of my wife, and just had the feeling that this is going to blow everything we’ve been working towards together for the past six months or so. It was so unfair!

When I woke up, and realized I was home, and Kathy was in bed right beside me, and I wasn’t stuck somewhere in West Virginia with no way of contacting her, I was so relieved, and so grateful. I had really felt panicked in the dream.

Isn’t it great how a dream can serve to make you grateful for what you have? I’ve been feeling it all morning, ever since I woke up still feeling that panic until I realized it was just a dream. I guess, sometimes, a dream can be a wakeup call.

--

--

Hawkeye Pete Egan B.
The Story Hall

Connecting the dots. Storytelling helps me to make sense of this world, and of my life. I love writing and reading. Writing is like breathing, for me.