Water Plane

Hannah Miller
The Story Hall
Published in
2 min readNov 24, 2017

--

villanelle

Pexels

The little pond behind my house is almost dry ,

That men in hard hats and big trucks have tried to drain

But water flows from underneath , down the hill , and from the sky

For months now , engineers and foreman come and try

Using digging earth movers to grind deeper , fitting pipes and lanes

The little pond behind my house is almost dry

Some deep eternal spring that sated thirsty wildlife neigh

Fetched all manner of creatures winding through the terrain

But water flows from underneath , down the hill , and from the sky

The men have fried in summer sun and soaked in winter rain thereby ,

They work to orders , fulfilling duties , giving of themselves for gain

The little pond behind my house is almost dry

At first , when construction noise stopped at end of day , came nearby

The cautious steps of deer , rabbits , raccoons , and birds to water plane

But water flows from underneath , down the hill , and from the sky

Yet still the pond has not died despite the ongoing destructive try

I guess the machines will win someday soon , let this be my refrain

The little pond behind my house is almost dry

But water flows from underneath , down the hill , and from the sky.

( Sixteen acres of rainforest has been cleared behind my house to build a subdivision. I have gotten used to it but I wish they had left the pond as a feature of beauty. )

--

--

Hannah Miller
The Story Hall

Story telling was a part of my history. I grew up on an Island in the Atlantic where oral stories were told for entertainment.