What is Capitalism? How is it different from Commodification?

Susan G Holland
The Story Hall
Published in
2 min readDec 18, 2017

SGHolland 2017

I have been sneered at by one of my friends for being part of a Capitalistic System.

I have also been sneered at by another of my friends for “hating on” Capitalism.

Am I out of touch with language on this one? I see commodification as a system entered into to make money of a product — a commodity.

I see Capitalism as an economic system intended to make the most of one’s money.

And I see nothing wrong with either of these.

If I am not on the side of friend 1 or of friend 2 then am I an ANTI-Capitalist? Or an anti-anti-capitalist?

No one has called me an ANTI-commodificationalist though. Somehow that word, commodification, is not a buzz word, but Capitalism is. So I will use commodification to mean the revenue-gaining systems we all use and participate in if we work for a living and/or buy stuff in the public market.

Could it be that our Political Science gurus have made us into teams and if you are on one team you may not be on the other. Or hobnob with the other?

This is how I find the divisiveness happening right here in my small world.
(It is small indeed — conducted from a desk mostly, but with real people all over the world that I bump into daily.

There is a list out today in my window to the world of words that someone wants to banish from our language! Do they really want to make certain words illegal? (I can think of some smutty ones that have been out-of-order for years, but have recently flown into everyday speech so that even I, who hate these words, say them sometimes when I want attention.)

But what is the reason for banishing words? Is it to purify the air around us so that we won’t get something unwanted if we say or hear them?

This is a question. I would love some feedback.
YOU MAY USE ANY WORDS YOU LIKE IN YOUR ANSWER AS LONG AS THEY ARE NOT SO SMUTTY AS TO OFFEND ME. (in which case I will skip reading it.)

SGHolland © 2017

--

--

Susan G Holland
The Story Hall

Student of life; curious always. Tyler School of Fine Art, and a couple of years’ worth of computer coding and design, plus 87 years of discovery. Now in WA