Write Simpler, Use Scrivener

Using Scrivener to Track Story Grid 5 Commandments

Randall Surles
The Story Ninja
3 min readAug 27, 2021

--

Photo by Christian Wiediger on Unsplash

Use Synopsis, Corkboard, or Metadata

If you are familiar with the Story Grid, then you know that the core of every scene lies in the 5 commandments. Scriver allows multiple places in the platform to track the commandments.

One of the obvious places you could put them is in the synopsis. I started putting there when I first began using the Story Grid method.

Screenshot of Synopsis (Top Right) on author’s computer of Scrivener program

Now I find it a lot more useful to put the Literal and Essential action of the scene in the Synopsis. The primary reason I do that is that when you look at the Corkboard for the manuscript, you can see all the comments in the Synopsis.

I thought this would be more helpful to me when I’m reviewing the cards.

Screenshot of Corkboard (Center) on author’s computer of Scrivener program

That being said, I began putting the 5 commandments in the notes section of the inspector. That way, they don’t overfill the index cards on the Corkboard, but they are always visible while I’m…

--

--

Randall Surles
The Story Ninja

Retired Army Ranger and Green Beret, Digital Nomad, Author, Developmental Editor. Find out more at www.randysurles.com.