HOW TO WRITE

The Tools You Need to Help You Write Your Story

This title scored 74 on CoSchedule

--

Photo by Markus Winkler on Unsplash

There’s a delicate balance between what a story is about and how it is told. If it’s a boring story, nothing will save it, including perfect grammar, syntax, and spelling. If it’s exciting but poorly composed, no one will read it.

Between these two extremes is probably where your storytelling ability lies. There aren’t many tools that will make you less boring, but many will help you with composition.

Of course, you don’t need tools, but they save time, which lets you either produce more or lead a happier life. Think of Noah and what he could have done with power tools. Would he have forgotten the unicorns if he’d had a cordless drill? Probably not.

I’ve been using Grammarly Pro for a few years and recently added ProWritingAid as well, and between the two, they pick most of my minor errors up. I also use Hemingway Editor from time to time, but my rough drafts (humble brag) do alright enough by Ernest to use him less and less. I sometimes use the text reading feature on Hemingway if I’m looking for a home-run, but that’s only occasionally.

CoSchedule helps me with my headlines by scoring them. I read anything over 73 is acceptable, and so that’s what I shoot…

--

--