A Serious Game…

Juliet Romeo
The Storyteller’s Vault
2 min readDec 4, 2023

And the winner is?…

Poetry Writing Prompt Week Forty-Eight for The Storytellers Vault

Photo by Andre Morales Kalamar on Unsplash

I stood at the open door
looking out and wondering what to wear
All I could see outside
Was white everywhere

I pondered my options
What would be best
A zippered suit head to toe
Or possibly an armored vest

My hands started tingling
My toes were next on the list
I’ll remember this moment well
Like the back of my fist

I struggled with the layers
This clothing was for war

This was serious business
Not just some fable or folklore

This snowball competition
It is as serious as it gets
I must win this battle
Or lose a major bet

As playful as it sounds
The other player never smiles
This snowball event
Has people coming from miles

The goal you see
Is to build the tallest wall
That No one can see over
And don’t let it fall

The snowballs must be perfect
Round and dense and smooth
They must be stacked in rows
Once in place, they can’t be removed

No help from others
No guidance from the crowd
No use of technology
No talking is allowed

This may sound simple
This may sound trite
But to win is my goal
I won’t go down without a fight

My opponent is tough
My opponent has such glee
My opponent always wins
Even though he’s only three

As hard as I try
As ready as. I feel
I know from the beginning
It’s already a done deal.

Yes once again
I lost just like before
You see what the problem is
I’m barely just four

The bet you wonder
What is the price of this loss
My little brother, you see
Gets to be the boss …

Juliet Romeo…

--

--

Juliet Romeo
The Storyteller’s Vault

My passion for writing is blossoming and reaching out in many directions. Poetry, short stories, self reflection. Dark and humorous. Wicked and sharp.