How Being A Vet Tech Changed My View Of Humanity.

It’s probably not what you think.

Ruby Noir 😈
The Storyteller’s Vault

--

Heading to work. Photo owned by author.

I am a strong ally of the #BlackLivesMatter movement.

That statement may seem out of line with the article title, but it’s important before I continue that you know that.

I’m anti-racism, I have been to protests regarding police violence against people of color, I strongly advocate for more white people to join the movement and show support, I am an ally.

Following the murder of George Floyd, tensions were very high in America. It was the height of Covid but a police officer kneeling on a black man’s neck for nearly ten minutes sparked national outrage and protests erupted in nearly every state. I lived in Florida at the time and as an essential worker in a field that was quickly being burned out by a rise in pet ownership, I was always at work.

One day, a man brought his dog in late for his appointment. He wasn’t a few minutes, or even a few hours late… he was two days late. He’d gotten the appointment date wrong but his dog was in bad shape. Her long fur was badly matted and she had a raging eye infection that was clearly painful and in need of care. Our receptionists checked him in without checking with the vet or vet tech staff.

--

--

Ruby Noir 😈
The Storyteller’s Vault

14 X’s Top Writer. Vet tech and mom of 6 rescue animals. I speak for those who have no voice.