Pencil Poetry

A poetry writing challenge

Julia A. Keirns
The Storyteller’s Vault
1 min readSep 14, 2023

--

Photo by Samuel Rios on Unsplash

Chelsea Marie has suggested some great poetry prompts in the following article.

The following prompt spoke to me.

Prompt 3

pencil

Challenge words/ideas:
sharpen | shading

I can draw the world around me
And shade it light or dark
I can jot down ideas and dreams
Or create a work of art

A simple tool within my hand
The pencil holds the power
To write a book, a love note,
Or even draw a flower

It empowers me to do as I wish
I could even change the world
With this humble stick and sharpened point
My thoughts become unfurled

The lines are blank as I begin
My hand and pencil are one
I wonder what will come out today
When the pencil and I are done

I hope you enjoyed this bit of creativity.

Thanks for reading.

--

--

Julia A. Keirns
The Storyteller’s Vault

Currently living in an RV full time and traveling across North America. The goal is simply to write about it. Editor of Fiction Shorts, the Challenged, and ROD.