Four Months After The 5 Sci-fi Previews

Segun Ade-Martins
The Strange Journal
4 min readFeb 29, 2024
A woman (R) gazes reassuringly into a man’s eyes. Dune: Part Two
Atreides (Chalamet) and Chani (Zendaya) in Dune: Part Two Credit: WB

A recap of “I Just Watched Sci-fi Previews Coming in the Next 4 Months”

By Segun Ade-Martins

In November 2023, I wrote a preview of some sci-fi movies and TV shows to expect from December to March. Now, we have had three of them land: Rebel Moon, Madam Web, and Avatar: The Last Airbender.

Below, I follow up with reviews of these hotly anticipated shows.

Rebel Moon-Part One: A Child of Fire

Laser sword-wielding action hero, Hamada in Zack Snyder’s Rebel Moon — Part One: A Child of Fire
Production Still: Credit: Netflix

Rebel Moon-Part One: A Child of Fire came out before Christmas, and I saw it as well as wrote a review. If you are new here, you can read my thoughts on Zack Snyder’s latest blockbuster.

I’m eagerly waiting for Part Two in April because it ended on a cliffhanger, and I’m curious about the finale of this story. You can also watch a film analysis of A Child of Fire from a voice I trust.

Madame Web

A spider-woman in Sony pictures Madame Web
Spider-woman (Sydney Sweeney) Credit: Sony Pictures

As I suspected, this film got packed with reviews, and the box office was a bloodbath. Yikes! Just like Morbius, it’s said to be really bad. Based on that, I shall pass on reviewing the film because I don’t have the budget to see a “bad” film in theatres.

I will watch it when it hits streaming. It’s a shame I wanted this film to succeed, but like I said, Sony Pictures might have to relinquish the Spider-Man IP to Marvel to develop better films.

Also, superhero fatigue is the new buzzword in Hollywood and the critic spheres. However, I think the last crop of films is missing the point of what good stories are. Too much outcome setting with the films and “you know what would be cool” moments.

If you analyse the good MCU films and what made them successful, you will find that key storytelling principles are missing in these box-office bombs.

Avatar: The Last Airbender: Mini Review

Three kids stand looking in the distance: Avatar: The Last Airbender
Sokka, Katara, and Aang. Credit: Netflix

What happens when you adapt twenty-four half-hour format episodes and compress them into eight 1-hour format episodes? You can get a mixed bag.

Hardcore lovers of the original animation may be disappointed, but I feel it’s an even production. I mean, it doesn’t capture all the magic of the original, but it has its moments and is a solid adaptation.

In moments, it fills in spots where the original was vague or unclear. It also takes the liberty of expanding on characters’ presence.

For example, in the first season of the animation, Fire Lord Ozai is an ominous and mysterious villain. In the live-action adaptation, he is more present and less mysterious. As a result, he is a less menacing character, but I think this is a different but good thing.

He is drawn as a power-hungry megalomaniac, but from a logical standpoint. Similarly, Firelord Ozai’s growing presence also brings forth the stakes for the moment and the entire series, which is important. If not, adult viewers will wonder why I should care and switch off mentally.

This and other touches make the adaptation a separate entity from the original animation. If you can get past all the authentic casting noise and minor and major tweaks, you will be looking forward to the next season.

Why? Because watching it is a breeze, which is always a good sign of its entertainment value.

Look out for a full review later.

Dune: Part Two

I don’t care whatever reviews or box office numbers come out on this one. I’m invested in this film. I skipped Part One at the theatres, and I regret it.

The Oscar-winning film (below the line) blew me away; I rated it 9 out of 10. So, I will be catching Paul Atreides (Timothee Chalamet), Chani (Zendaya), Denis Villeneuve, and the rest of the cast and crew at the cinema.

3 Body Problem

So the details coming out of the film on their press run are remarkable. The budget for each episode is staggering-$20 million! I don’t even know what the story is about.

I don’t have the time to read the book to find out. I will just wait until March 21 to enjoy the eight-part Netflix original series.

Recap of the Recap

Two more releases are to go: Dune: Part Two and 3 Body Problem. Dune is out tomorrow!

Madame Web is a no-go for now. Filmento should have a hilarious and insightful analysis of Madam Web soon.

Rebel Moon-Part One: A Child of Fire was okay, slightly underwhelming, but intriguing from the standpoint of “what happens next.”

Avatar: The Last Airbender is delightful and full of a mixed bag of good and not-so-good. However, it has hair-raising and nostalgic moments; please watch.

Originally published at http://thestrangejournal.wordpress.com on February 29, 2024.

--

--

Segun Ade-Martins
The Strange Journal

I express myself through words by writing about art, technology, design, fiction, film and poetry. My aim is to uncover the essence of things.