Same Mission, New Direction

Segun Ade-Martins
The Strange Journal
2 min readMay 9, 2024
A tree in a mechanics garage.
A tree in a mechanic garage.

By Segun Ade-Martins

There are many paths to the core of who you are. Over the last 15 years, I’ve been on a path to finding equilibrium. I seek a fulfilling, sustaining, and rewarding career, among other things. Figuring this out has not been easy, and pursuing it has been even more difficult.

Over the last few weeks, I have been on a hiatus from writing blogs. You might have noticed this blog. In my mind, this was a blog to explain the hiatus, but I’m not surprised if that message was lost.

I’ve made a commitment to myself to make my communication clearer. The content creation treadmill is not a fulfilling place to be for me. Creating blog articles hoping to fit into set categories of content like film and TV reviews makes me feel trapped. I am an artist and need the freedom to explore and experiment, even in writing blogs.

The thing is, I burn out frequently and easily. It’s because I pour almost all of my psychic effort into one activity, and after it’s done, there’s not much energy left. Now, many years later, I can empathise with Jean Grey from X-Men, the 90s animated series.

Me posing in front of the artist Philip Daramola’s piece front the exhibition Something Familiar.

Anyway, what have I been up to? I’ve been recuperating. Now, I feel refreshed and ready to realign my goals in a new direction.

So what’s changing? Firstly, I will work in sprints; they could last between two and six weeks. At the time of writing this, I’m not sure of the exact length. Then, I’ll have two weeks of recuperation.

What will the blog look like then? Rather than chase the news cycle, I will look to analyse moments from life, books, and the media I consume. Sharing these learnings will serve my ultimate goal. A huge component of this ultimate goal is to develop my writing, design, and visual art skills.

Through these analyses, I can synthesise future bodies of work to gain creative fulfilment.

Also, the aim is to keep the blogs concise and digestible but packed with potent details.

So, stick around and share in my journey to the core of who I am; maybe I might learn something from you if you engage.

Cheers.

Originally published at http://thestrangejournal.wordpress.com on May 9, 2024.

--

--

Segun Ade-Martins
The Strange Journal

I express myself through words by writing about art, technology, design, fiction, film and poetry. My aim is to uncover the essence of things.