The Strange Journal presents: the Fish Month Playlist

Segun Ade-Martins
The Strange Journal
2 min readMar 14, 2024

In this liquid month, we pray for rain, for money (liquidity), and for love.

By Segun Ade-Martins

The heat is hot! Many of us are two seconds from dehydration, but we have to work; we have to soldier on. Inflation is slapping us on both cheeks. You may be going through it with your babe(s) and/or kids, family, or friends.

It’s okay; there’s an unusual playlist to shift your thinking and get you in your feels. It’s not algorithm-generated. These are carefully picked by touch.

Daniel Caesar’s Freudian Album

Here’s a free verse poem I wrote that enhances my thoughts on nostalgia and love.

I hearken back to simpler times.

I’m not sad, but I knew what I had.

I had finally found you.

Until I lost you.

I couldn’t be your family guy.

Now, I don’t dance to rhythms anymore.

toxic poison coursing through our ethereal arteries.

Who stuck the knife in first?

But I have to learn to forgive myself eventually.

Life is hard.

That’s why I’m not budging until it feels the same or better.

I can’t start what I can’t finish.

And I have to wait to find

The sweetest, most blissful scene ever.

Someday, it will all make sense.

Here are the songs that are making me feel the depths of my essence. New, old, or retro-it doesn’t matter. Let us be in love with ourselves first, and then hopefully we can be better people.

  1. Sorrow by Konyikeh
  2. Good Girls by Joe
  3. If I Ever Fall In Love by Shai, Bill Appleberry
  4. I Can Only Whisper by Charlotte Day Wilson, BADBADNOTGOOD
  5. Distance by Yebba
  6. If You Say by Sarz, Obongjayar
  7. Too Close by Next
  8. I Wanna Know by Joe
  9. All My Life by K-Ci & JoJo
  10. Still Not a Player by Big Pun ft Joe
  11. Got ’Til It’s Gone by Janet Jackson, Q-Tip
  12. No Ordinary Love by Sade
  13. Best Part by Daniel Caesar, H.E.R
  14. On My Shoulders by Sabrina Claudio
  15. Blame Game by Kanye West, John Legend
  16. Black Dog by Arlo Parks
  17. Undercover by Sute Iwar

Originally published at http://thestrangejournal.wordpress.com on March 14, 2024.

--

--

Segun Ade-Martins
The Strange Journal

I express myself through words by writing about art, technology, design, fiction, film and poetry. My aim is to uncover the essence of things.