Aladdin (2019)

Sarah Callen
Movies & Us
Published in
3 min readJun 1, 2019

--

Disney’s attempt to ruin my childhood one movie at a time.

Aladdin movie poster

I am a child of the 90s. I grew up watching The Little Mermaid, Beauty and the Beast, The Lion King, and Aladdin. And I absolutely adored all of these movies. I enjoyed being whisked off to these magical lands of brave heroes and talking animal pals. I would sit, glued to my television (not an easy feat for this squirmy child), as the characters would work together, discover who they were, and overcome any obstacle in their way.

We’re almost 30 years removed from those wonderful Disney films that I steeped myself in. Now we’ve entered a new phase of Disney’s cinematic repertoire: live action remakes. And, not surprisingly, I’m not a fan. Honestly, I haven’t seen any one of these that I’ve actually liked.

My biggest question regarding these films is Why?

Are they just one big and strategic money-grab? I would like to think not, but I can’t think of another good reason to make all of these. With such successful IP laying around in the Disney vault, I guess I understand it, but, as a creative, it also breaks my heart.

The company that has created magic for so many people over the course of so many decades seems unable to pull it off any longer. Instead of creating something truly wonderful and innovative, they are resting on their laurels, playing it safe, and trusting that people will go see these movies even if they are just okay.

And, as you can imagine, I hate this. And, unfortunately, I don’t have an answer nor a solution to this lack of creativity in media that just gnaws at me.

The other question rolling around in my head in anticipation of seeing 2019’s Aladdin was: Who is this film for?
Kids?
Adults?
Millennials that grew up on this that want to share it with their kids?
Who could say?

While I was sitting in the theater, watching Aladdin, I kept looking to my left at the young girl who was seeing this movie with her father. As the start time drew near, her anticipation rose, and her excited chatter grew louder and louder. She loved Jasmine and the Genie and couldn’t believe she was going to be seeing Aladdin. She was curled up in the big, comfy recliner seat with her candy in hand, prepared to be utterly amazed.

Once the movie started, I didn’t hear from her much. There were a few questions like “Is that Abu?” and “What’s he doing, dad?” but when I looked over, about halfway through the movie, she was sound asleep.

Obviously, one child’s reaction to a movie isn’t indicative of all children, I’m sure there are many who loved it, but it reinforced the underlying question in my mind: Who is this for?

It didn’t feel like it was for me. And it didn’t seem like it was for her.

It seems to me, that this is one of Disney’s safest ways to gain a profit. I have nothing against making money or gaining wealth, I just wish that it wasn’t at the expense of creativity, passion, and grandeur. I know there are many who enjoyed Aladdin, but it lacked the magic that made the 1992 film so special.

I don’t know when Disney lost their ability (or will) to make magic happen, but I sure do hope they get it back.

Listen to our review of Aladdin on The Strategic Whimsy Experiment here: https://apple.co/2DH63Vv.

--

--

Sarah Callen
Movies & Us

Every number has a name, every name has a story, every story is worthy of being shared.