Good Will Hunting (1997)

Jennifer Han
Movies & Us
Published in
3 min readMar 13, 2019

For years, I have heard people talk about how Good Will Hunting moved them and touched their heart. As a result, I have had this film on my ever-growing “Films To Watch” list. This was before I discovered the wondrous app called Letterboxd, so it was stored in my iPhone Notes that demanded lots of scrolling. Curiosity finally kicked in with full force, and I found myself on a weekday night with one goal: watch Good Will Hunting. Finally.

I’ll preface my thoughts on this film with an initial disclaimer: I approach anything that gets too much hype with a dose of realism, caution, and doubt. Okay, okay, it’s a very large dose of those things. And since this film is often referenced and revered by many, I approached it with a lot of skepticism.

And yet, I was pleasantly surprised at how much this film fulfilled the gushing reviews it received. Were there areas that raised some questions for me? Yes, of course. However, I was thoroughly impressed by this film’s ability to beautifully display the vulnerability of a human relationship without entering a territory that can be called the “Land of Cheesy Life Lessons”.

This film has so many components that could easily have made the leap from profound to utterly cheesy: the genius young boy from the poverty-stricken areas of the city, the entirely coincidental discovery of his raw talent, the wise old sage who helps him see beyond his current world. Aren’t we perfectly set up for a transformational journey that tugs on our heartstrings and shouts, rather obnoxiously, “Hello audience! Everyone’s heart can be softened! Everyone can achieve greatness if they just believe! How beautiful, right?! Are you crying yet!”

Good Will Hunting’s raw and nuanced portrayal of how a human relationship can open up places of vulnerability is deeply moving. The way Sean, played by Robin Williams, chooses to bare his soul and continue to nudge Will, played by Matt Damon, out of his protective walls is absolutely stunning. The film is far from the “Land of Cheesy Life Lessons”. Instead, the story unfolding on the screen reminds the viewers of some hard truths. Connection takes patience. It requires effort. And is riddled with uncomfortable moments. But, as the film depicts, it is worth every bit of sweat and tears to knock down the walls and free us up for true human connection.

It feels odd to end on a negative note for a film I greatly loved. But alas, in the spirit of balance and to avoid future Good Will Hunting audiences to hear only the gushing reviews, here we go.

Will was a genius. By the end of the film, he has transformed his poverty-stricken life because he finally fully embraced his intelligence. Does his once-in-a-lifetime brain detract from the hope that is so potent throughout the film? You can improve your situation, you can change your socio-economic standing, but only if you’re a genius — is that the central message of the film? I don’t think that’s what they were going for.

In the end, I found myself pondering a central question: does this film require Will to be a genius? Can the same stunning message of vulnerability and reconciliation and moving beyond the shame of our past still be on full display without this plot point? I don’t know what the answer is here, I don’t even know if there’s a “right” answer, I’m simply posing the question, hoping it will cause you, the reader, to examine this precious film a little more deeply.

What do you think? Is this story of hope and transformation accessible?

Do you think this film could’ve worked without Will’s genius?

Listen to episodes of The Strategic Whimsy Experiment here: https://apple.co/2DH63Vv.

--

--