‘Pinocchio’ is Really Weird

Sarah Callen
Movies & Us
Published in
5 min readApr 17, 2021

--

Why do people keep remaking this particular story?

Pinocchio movie poster | Roadside Attractions
Pinocchio movie poster | Roadside Attractions

Pinocchio follows a puppet who comes to life and goes on a series of bizarre adventures. And I just can’t seem to make sense of why people keep remaking this incredibly strange story. If you can shed some light on this, I would greatly appreciate it.

This movie is weird. You can’t apply any logic to it at all. This is always the most difficult type of movie for me to watch because I’m just a bit too logical. If you are able to check your brain at the door, you might be able to enjoy this, but even then, it’s not guaranteed.

There are many strange creative choices in this film, but it does do some things right.

Roberto Benigni’s Geppetto is my favorite part of the film. I honestly wish that we had more time with him. I think that if they had made his reunion with Pinocchio the main emotional crux of the movie, I might have enjoyed it more.

Benigni is so charming and endearing that you can’t help but love him. He does so many brilliant little things that instantly endear you to his character. I think his talents could have been better used in this film.

But maybe that’s just me.

Pinocchio has been nominated for 2 Oscars for costume design and makeup and hairstyling. And I think it’s absolutely…

--

--

Sarah Callen
Movies & Us

Every number has a name, every name has a story, every story is worthy of being shared.