‘Spencer’ is Stunning

Sarah Callen
Movies & Us
Published in
5 min readMar 4, 2022

--

It bravely distances itself from traditional biopics.

Kristen Stewart in Spencer | Neon
Kristen Stewart in Spencer | Neon

Spencer takes us to a Christmas weekend with Princess Diana and the royal family. When we dip beneath the beautiful exterior, we learn how relationships have disintegrated and get an intimate look at Diana’s tumultuous inner world.

One of the things that I loved most about this film is that it’s entirely uninterested in being historically accurate. This is not an attempt at a docudrama. We aren’t taken into what actually happened. Instead, the film employs immense imagination to take us deeper into her life and mindset.

I don’t know a lot of the details of Diana’s life because she died when I was still in elementary school. But I remember that she was well-known even here in the U.S. There was something exciting about having such a personable princess, and she was able to connect with people on a different level. I clearly remember her death and how that affected people around the globe.

So watching Spencer was fascinating. It was a creative expression about a person who I only vaguely know about. While watching, I realized that I know more about her death than her life, so this helped push me to research her and learn about all that she did during her tragically short life. I love it when a film sparks that level of curiosity!

--

--

Sarah Callen
Movies & Us

Every number has a name, every name has a story, every story is worthy of being shared.