Why I’m Rewatching The West Wing Yet Again

I just can’t get enough of Aaron Sorkin’s government.

Sarah Callen
TV & Us
Published in
3 min readJun 25, 2019

--

The West Wing poster
The West Wing poster

My podcast feed is filled with movie-related podcasts or political podcasts, with little in between. I often listen to the political events, discourse, tomfoolery, and chicanery of today. And while it’s incredibly interesting to me, I’ve recently realized that I’m exhausted. I’m sick of the fighting and the foolishness, the partisanship, and the ridiculousness of our current government.

So, last week, after finishing Netflix’s season of Designated Survivor and being largely disappointed by it, I wanted to watch a political show that didn’t disappoint me. And that’s when The West Wing caught my eye.

And, from the first episode, I was sucked in all over again.

Every time I rewatch this show, I’m amazed at just how well it’s aged. Sure, the technology is old, and the clothing is out of style for today, but the dialogue, the pacing, the characters, and the problems facing the government all hold up.

But this was made in a time when people still had (at least a little) faith in the government. At least Aaron Sorkin did.

It seems like today’s political dramas are all centered around power-hungry conspirators who care more about themselves than the people they are…

--

--

Sarah Callen
TV & Us

Every number has a name, every name has a story, every story is worthy of being shared.