gettyimages

If you’d be ever so kind

To write or not to write?

Emma Jeffries
2 min readNov 18, 2013

--

If there is a point at which every single being that enjoys writing considers authoring a book then I have reach that point.
Imagination has taken grasp of my hands in the hope that I do something with it whether it be scribbling it on a napkin and throwing it at the nearest waiter or turning it into a shelf breaking novel.

In theory it all sounds great.
Idea in head, idea on paper, idea on shelf, idea on conveyor.

However, we all know, including you, that it’s just not that easy. Some spend their lives perfecting their stories then some, Jacqueline Wilson (for the kids) and Dan Brown (for the more matured audience), seem to keep them flowing like soup from a kitchen. Baffling isn’t it.

Having never written a book before, this decision is a rather daunting one. Half of my mind is saying, ‘Just go for it, dive in!’, the other half is saying, ‘you must plan and prepare your story otherwise you will fail’. Out comes the big F word. The one I tell people never to say…

I’ve never been a great planner and the thought of sitting and planning sends this brain of mine into a deep dark hole.
It’s telling me that it won’t come out.
Not until the pen, paper and central brainstorm cloud has been thrown away.
No, shredded.

I feel like a little guidance could be needed.
If a bird could perch on my window one morning and tell me all the answers I would be running outside into the rain and taking on life, including this whole writing thing, head first. Well hands first I guess would be more fitting. However, as great as my imagination is, I know this isn’t going to happen.

Life shattered all hope of miracles such as a talking bird. Even writing of a morning with a bird perched on my windowsill seems like the words of a fantasist.

It’s like looking into the mirror of my imagination

Right about here, or here (you can choose your moment), is where I would appreciate a little slice of your knowledge. A tip or two maybe?
If you’d be ever so kind as to lend me some of your wisdom it would give me some type of idea as to what the hell I should be doing.

--

--

Emma Jeffries

Posting any thoughts that linger in my brain onto Medium! Find me @ejeff93