Marcus Peña
The Student Reel
Published in
2 min readSep 6, 2019

--

This is me, circa 2017, filming a short.
This is me, circa 2017, filming a short

What is the Student Reel? First and foremost, this is a place where student filmmakers will not only be talked about, but they will be talked to. The Student Film Reel aims to share my feelings on what is happening within the student film community in Charlotte, as well as covering certain events that may pertain to student filmmakers. One such event is coming up at the end of this month, the Charlotte Film Festival.

The Charlotte Film Festival is going to be holding its eleventh annual festival from September 25 to September 29. In years past, the festival has had a student film block that they have shown before they play some of the features that have been selected at the festival. Many of these films have come from students who are currently enrolled in college, which is certainly something to admire. Not only are they likely full-time students, but they are using any free time that they have to create a film. Something that I admire in other people is when they follow their passion and it is always good to see it pay off. While the Charlotte Film Festival is not one of the be all end all film festivals such as the Toronto International Film Festival or the Venice Film Festival, it is still a momentous occasion none the less.

Events such as this, along with profiles on student filmmakers, and some opinions on student films and filmmakers are some of the things that I would like this blog to host. It is not to say that other things might not come from this, but those subjects are what I aim to share in the next few months. Being a former filmmaker hopeful, topics like this are still close to my heart, and it is something that I am still passionate about although I no longer have any direct involvement in filmmaking itself. Who knows? The Student Reel could end up giving me the filmmaking bug once again.

If you feel inclined to do so, follow me on Twitter @marcusjpena.

--

--