My Broken Heart.

The Moran
The Study
Published in
2 min readMay 8, 2015

My heart has been broken during the past few hours. From the hope of coalition, and the power of people to the look of more cuts, more privatisation, and more strife for the British people under a tory majority. There is no response to this bar immense and consuming sadness. Silver exists, but only to line an ever darkening cloud over the British public. Both in mind, spirit, and voting.

On UKIP:

The biggest sign of the night of a broken democratic system has to be UKIP. I bear no bones about my distaste for the mantra of fear and disgust of and for others. But I believe in democracy. I believe 12% of the people cannot be represented with <1% of the seats. This is the clearest mandate for electoral reform.

On SNP:

Conversely, 56 seats for 1.4million votes? UKIP gained nearly 3 times the votes, and got 1/56th of the seats. Greens faced a similar issue of roughly 2/3rds of the votes the SNP gained for again only 1 seat. This is the second clearest mandate for electoral reform.

On Labour:

Deserved roughly the same number of seats it got for % of voters. Has the ability now, then, to safely call for voter reform and yet? I feel they won’t. And that’s a damn shame.

On Turnout:

I weep for a nation of care-nots and complain-lots. ‘No one listens! No one cares! Why would I bother to vote?’ many who did not vote will cry. Cry as they will, their voices grow ever softer as politicians care ever-less for their views, as they’re not a vote to gain or an opinion to value. It’s fucking moronic. I’m so fucking tired of it. 34% of votes not cast. That’s attrocious. That’s the kind of numbers tories get majorities on under FPTP. Think about that next time you don’t vote.

On The Liberal Democrats:

My heart has broken most here, not because I am a Liberal Democrat, I am not, but because I see the left cheering for their loss, for the fact that the LibDems have been culled for their coalition. Nick Clegg was brave, even if foolish, to enter a coalition. He worked to neutralize some of the tories harshest and most cruel policies. He will be missed in the years to come, when the winters are colder and the nation sicker both in citizens and countryside when our land is fracked and our health service for-profit.

It’s a bitter-sweet victory to blame the better, smaller part of the coalition for a mistake which at least neutered a tory austerity government, when their punishment directly gave that tory austerity government free-reign.

--

--

The Moran
The Study

Modern Liberal Arts student. A keen interest in science, humanity, and technology.