My favorite, posts, hacks and ways to gain more Instagram followers

CatCason
3 min readJan 5, 2018

Tactical advice you can actually use

  1. Tag your favorite — fill in the blank

These posts tend to go super viral, because people like to tag themselves, their friends, or that person they have been stalking — plus it’s fun to give people shoutouts. This type of post tends to get some many comments, that it has huge a network effect that ultimately leads to great follower increases.

2. Competitions to pick winners

For contests I have stopped randomly choosing a winner. I now make my community vote on the winner. Why? Many reasons, it’s more fun and the community likes to get involved which is better for everyone. But also, the finalists get competitive, meaning they will mobilize their tribe to go my page and vote, driving lots of traffic to me, and ultimately you guessed it more followers.

3. Comment on my photos and I will follow back 20 accounts a day

This is a great hack, people love people it because they too want more followers. It’s a great, free and easy way to reward your followers for their participation and get to know them. They way the algorithm works the more engagement you have the more Instagram will push out your photo, so this is a great way to boost engagement in a natural and effective way.

4. The 30 second club

This one is the mastermind work of Gary Vee and it’s a good one. He ask’s people to turn on notifications and then if people comment in the first 30 seconds he gives out random prizes. What it does is boost his engagement fast after he posts, which the Instagram loves and ultimately then shows his photo’s to more people, which ultimately helps him grow his account faster.

5. Recycle top posts

This is a good one because it’s so easy! That post that got the most likes EVER?! After some time has passed repost it! It often will do just as well, or just slightly worse. A good way I like to cover this is to say I’m doing a countdown of my most liked posts for the year or month. It’s fun for my followers to follow along on the countdown, and makes it seem natural that I am recycling old content.

You can follow my personal Instagram, or follow me on Twitter.

You can find my fine jewelry blog at gemhunt.co and my store at gembreakfast.com

--

--

CatCason

entrepreneurship, marketing, personal growth, learn more about at www.catherine-ellen.com, follow @catcason, eats diamonds @thegemhunt