2 Minute Motivation

I Choose Gratefulness, Over Hatefulness.

Pam Winter
The Summit
2 min readJan 10, 2022

--

I know it sounds cliche’ so what does it really mean

Photo by Dylan Ferreira on Unsplash

What it means is all of life, every tiny, sticky, pin prick of it has meaning and whether I like it, or not, I’m to count it all Joy. James 1:2.

Is it easy? No, and it’s not suppose to be but it has it’s purpose which is worth pondering.

How can I know something is good if I haven’t experienced the opposite? How can I know I want to hold onto my life and cherish it if I haven’t ever come close to losing it. It’s simple, I can’t.

Gratefulness isn’t the opposite of hatefulness but they run parallel. When I hate something it means I’ve drawn a bad conclusion. I’ve judged something or someone and I’ve found it to be a thing that offends or disgusts me greatly. And so I say, “I hate them, or that.”

If I’m grateful it means I’ve judged it as a good thing and I’m happy about it. I feel blessed by something or someone and it’s lifting me up. I can’t help but want more of it. I’ll end up saying, “I love them, or that.”

To choose hatefulness is to say I prefer the darkness of things; circumstances, evil or bad people, places, and negativity, over light. Does this sound like a good way to live? I don’t think so.

I have lived long enough to know this will drag me down into a place I don’t even want to visit, let alone live in.

And so I choose gratefulness.

What do you choose?

--

--

Pam Winter
The Summit

Christian, Wife, Mimi and animal lover. Owner of ‘Boomers, Bitches, and Babes.’ 3X Top Writer, Humorous, snarky and blush proof.