It’s Never Too Late To Change your Mindset

In response to the Cofee Challenge: Why I want to be a better me in 2022

Ali
The Summit

--

Photo by Brad Starkey on Unsplash

I stare at the rectangular indentations on the lower left side of my abdomen and my chest. They are lighter than the rest of the surrounding skin– slightly caramel compared to the neighboring dark chocolate. A reminder that I spent last New Year’s Eve attached to a heart monitor.

There were days when I prayed that God would take away my life.

I couldn’t sleep, and the pain was so intense that it felt the urge to dig my nails deep beneath my skin, through the muscle to get to the area that hurt– to soothe it with a gentle touch and make it feel ok. I made a decision then–I was ready to die. Something had to change as I repeatedly fell into the dark hole of self-pity and surrendered. I lacked the courage or strength to fight.

Photo by Sarah Ardin on Unsplash

Having great support is one of the main reasons I am here today. My family (mother and brother), friends, and even strangers prayed for me, spoke healing over me, and encouraged me to change my mindset. They couldn’t do it for me. They all went on…

--

--

Ali
The Summit

Enjoys writing poetry but also creative fiction and nonfictional pieces! Creativity bleeds through me and that includes art!