Life

Start Doing Those Things That Really Matter Most to You

Tavian Jean-Pierre
The Summit

--

Photo by Becca Tapert on Unsplash

Last week, I was posed with a rather interesting question by Sahil Patel. Although I was hoping to respond to the question last week, I took another week to think about it.

The question was:

“Have you ever thought about your goals and purpose in life without money?”

Funny enough, I have thought about this for quite some time. Coming from a poor household, I was always discouraged from pursuing my passion for writing because I was told I would make no money.

Then, I was pushed away from my passion to inspire young people through teaching. So for a long time, I pursued a career in engineering and managed to get a good job.

Despite knowing that I would love to be a professor, I still pushed myself to pursue engineering. My family hardly have anything, and I feel a burden on my shoulders to build some amount of wealth for them.

Thankfully, my decision to pursue engineering has not had a drastic effect on the overall quality of my life. I enjoy the people I work with, and I have learned a lot in my career. However, it has had implications on how I have pursued the life I want to live.

--

--

Tavian Jean-Pierre
The Summit

Founder of the Better Conversations Podcast | Inspiring a better future | Thought leadership in the topics of innovation, economics, and entrepreneurship