Deerfield Beach High’s Football Coach Goes Beyond the Playbook

Dalton Daniels
THE SUNSHINE REPORT
5 min readApr 10, 2020

‘It’s like watching your baby birds leave the nest and fly,’ says Jevon Glenn

If you study long enough, anyone can learn all the “X’s and O’s” that come with the sport of football. But being a leader of young men and transforming their dreams into reality is something you can’t just learn. Jevon Glenn, head football coach of Deerfield Beach High School, is that leader.

Jevon Glenn on the field. (Courtesy)

Glenn, 42, is no stranger to Southeast Florida, as he attended Blanche Ely High School in Pompano Beach. He played basketball and football there all four years he attended.

“My drive to coach really did begin in high school, I looked up to my coaches and appreciated everything they would do for us. I’m just trying to do the same for these kids here.”

After high school, he attended Florida Atlantic University where he continued his basketball career, and graduated in 2000.

“I always knew I wanted to go back to football. I love basketball and all, but there’s a different type of brotherhood that comes with football. So I always knew I’d end up coming back to it.”

Glenn decided to officially go into coaching, securing a job as the assistant junior varsity coach for Deerfield Beach High School. He eventually was promoted to head coach of the junior varsity team.

“I enjoyed being the JV coach, setting the tone for what our program is all about, then sending them up to varsity to show what they got. Kind of like watching your baby birds leave the nest and fly,” Glenn said as he burst out laughing.

During his tenure as junior varsity head coach, the JV team never endured a losing season.

Glenn took the reins as head coach of the varsity team in the spring of 2015.

“The school wanted a culture change when they decided to replace the old coach with me. No disrespect to Coach (Allen) Jackson but I have the pulse of these kids that come through this school. I don’t look at these kids as athletes, I look at them as young individuals using football to enhance their lives.” Glenn went into great detail on how important it is to coach these kids not only in football, but in life. “For some of these kids, football is the only way they’re gonna get out of the hood or get a college education. I’m here to make sure that no matter what, these boys graduate as men. Then they can go be example setters in the real world.

As a black former athlete, Glenn knows how to connect with his athletes as he mentions, “I’ve walked in their shoes! I’m from Pompano, and that place ain’t no joke let me tell you. So I will always be able to reach a level personally with these players that other coaches are not capable of doing.

Coach Glenn is about one of the most endearing people you could ever meet in the gritty world of sports. And it is pretty easy to tell even without talking to him that he was an athlete himself. He stands at about 6’4 and could easily lift the desk he sat behind. Dressed head to toe in sweats, he totally fits the persona of someone devoted to football. When asked what his family status is he said, “I’m married to the game son” while grinning ear to ear “maybe when I retire I’ll settle down, but I got my mama down here and she’s all I need.”

James Pierre, a current athlete for the Florida Atlantic University football team played under Glenn, and had nothing but positive words for his former coach, “Coach Glenn is the best high school coach in the country. Write that down.” Pierre mentioned him and Glenn still text each other occasionally to catch up. “He shows nothing but love to me man. He could easily coach at a higher level.

Stellar athletes such as Pierre are funneling out of Deerfield Beach High School year in and year out thanks to Coach Glenn. Other great high school coaches in the state of Florida are continuously producing the top athletes the country has to offer. Florida Atlantic University’s football program is currently benefitting greatly from this. FAU is located in Boca Raton, which is in the midst of the pool of phenomenal high school football programs and athletes.

“We’ve got an outstanding group of kids this year with the right mentality. A good amount of these guys are committed to some D1 schools, but for now they’re all focused on the current task at hand.”

During his four year tenure, Glenn has sent dozens of kids to division 1 programs, including Jerry Jeudy, the best receiver in the country. “Jerry is gonna be the first receiver picked in the draft. Top 5 pick at least. He was a great leader here for us and I bet he’s doing the same things over at (the University of) Alabama.”

Jason McCarthy, an assistant coach for Deerfield Beach also expressed his approval of Coach Glenn. “Jevon is so committed to his craft. He turned this place around real quick after we went different ways with our old coach.” McCarthy added, “It’s safe to assume I’m speaking for all of the coaches when I say that Jevon is a blessing to have here. He understands this game so well.”

This season the Deerfield Beach Bucks are 10–3 under Coach Glenn, and are closing in on a state championship. They are currently the 9th ranked high school football team in Florida and have not had a losing record since 2014- the year before Glenn took over.

Jevon Glenn is the prime example of not just being a high school football coach, but being the mentor these young men need in order to be great. His successful reign at Deerfield Beach High looks like it will continue for the foreseeable future.

--

--