Local business owner brings West Coast-style vintage to South Florida

Mary Rasura
THE SUNSHINE REPORT
3 min readJul 9, 2023
Courtesy of Heidi Ferguson.

(Photo: Courtesy Heidi Ferguson)

LAKE WORTH BEACH, Fla. — Heidi Ferguson is from Portland, Ore., and has brought some of the city’s trendy aesthetics to Lake Worth Beach. She is a 47-year-old local business owner who sells vintage clothing at Trashé Vintage, previously known as Stitches and Rust.

“I was always just someone that wore them, I was a long-time wearer of vintage. Probably in the late nineties I started selling and that’s when eBay first came out,” Ferguson said.

Stitches and Rust was located in downtown Lake Worth Beach before rebranding as Trashé Vintage and moving south of downtown on Dixie Highway. The focus of Trashé Vintage narrowed in on 80’s to 90’s punk and alternative clothing.

“I think that rebranding in general, we had a different face and wanted to go in a different direction altogether so we kind of picked apart the things that worked with Stitches and Rust and eliminated those that didn’t,” Ferguson said.

Courtesy of Heidi Ferguson.

Ferguson said she enjoys being her own business owner.

“It comes with a lot of stress but it’s also very rewarding,” Ferguson said. “It’s really enjoyable.”

Ferguson elaborated on her stressors and rewards in her business endeavors.

“I would say that stress comes from finances. You never really know day to day what your sales are going to be,” Ferguson said. “That can be very stressful. You have pretty high rent in South Florida now.”

Ferguson also mentioned her desire to not only take care of her residential and commercial rent but making sure her employees are taken care of as well. One of these employees is 23-year-old Brianna Waugh.

“I have been a customer to Heidi, the owner of Trashé Vintage, for the past 4–5 years and have always admired her store,” Waugh wrote in an email. “Working there was something I dreamed about through the years while I kept up with my office position for a contractor in P.B.C. I have also dreamed of owning my own vintage shop someday because I truly love and adore vintage!”

Waugh has left her office position and continues to work part-time at Trashé Vintage. She enjoys her job, stating that her goal was to make her career something she truly enjoyed.

“I love the creativity. I am constantly inspired by the owner and her store,” Waugh wrote. “I love to meet the customers and hear about their lives and ideas. I watch their eyes light up as they look through the store and it brings me joy because I have had that same experience as a customer in this shop.”

Ferguson appreciates the response she’s gotten from the community.

“Doing something a little bit different and having people embrace that idea is really enjoyable,” Ferguson said. “Having others enjoy what you’re doing brings me joy.”

Ferguson is well-priced for a vintage clothing store, with 60% to 70% of the items costing $20 or less.

“It comes from if I can’t afford to shop there, then I don’t want people that come in not be able to afford to shop there as well,” Ferguson said.

Ferguson considered many locations before choosing to operate her shop in Lake Worth Beach.

“I think that Lake Worth, the community itself, is sort of the last bohemian frontier in South Florida,” Ferguson said. “I think that it fits in with Lake Worth’s whole aesthetic and vibe.”

Ferguson had some advice for potential vintage sellers.

“I would encourage anyone to try it, it can be really hard but it’s also super rewarding and I think there’s more of a need for it in South Florida, especially in our area,” Ferguson said. “So I hope more people, I hope more people do it.”

--

--

Mary Rasura
THE SUNSHINE REPORT

Multimedia journalism major at Florida Atlantic University.