Ellie Soutter talks all things Snowboarding

Marvin Amankwa-Dei
The Sweat Experience
3 min readMay 31, 2018

Ellie Soutter is one of the most progressive junior female snowboard athletes of Great Britain. Here is what she gets up to as a snowboarder as well as her future goals and aspirations.

So how did you get into snowboarding?

I got into snowboarding at the age of 9y/o when I moved to Les Gets, France. It was part of our school sports lessons.

What are your snowboarding disciplines?

My snowboarding disciplines are boardercross which is racing against 3 other girls down a course with different features such as berms and jumps. And I also do freeriding which is off piste big mountain riding.

What motivates you to succeed?

I love what I do and the motivation comes from wanting to be the best at what I do.

What is the most valuable lesson you’ve learnt so far as an athlete?

The most important lesson I’ve learnt so far is; you get out of a sport what you put into it, the harder you work the more you will achieve.

For those that do not know, how long is a typical snowboarding season?

A typical snowboarding season lasts about 4 months depending on snow conditions.

Ellie Soutter in action

What does a typical training day look like for you?

A normal training day would be:

7am wake up (breakfast most important meal of the day), technique training on snow (can be anything from carving, jumps or just riding on track).

1pm come down from the pistes, have lunch, workout/run or yoga.

Video anaylsis, down time and then dinner and bed.

What is the average lifespan of the career of a snowboarder?

Its difficult to say depending on what age you start snowboarding, but I’d say about 15 years.

With snowboarding being the intense sport that it is, what sort of things do you do outside of the sport to unwind?

Outside of snowboarding, travelling, hanging out with friends and walking are some things I like to do to unwind.

Do you play other sports?

I do alot of other sports, biking, hiking, climbing, anything outdoorsy is my thing really.

Last year, you were made an ambassador for Les Gets Ski Station in the French Alps, how did that come about?

Becoming an ambassador for Les Gets had been a goal of mine for a while now, its nice to know you’re supported by your local town, it all came about after my bronze medal at the Euro Youth Olympics.

As a snowboarder, what is your ultimate goal?

My ultimate goals in snowboarding would be to go to the Olympics for boardercross and/or make the Freeride World Tour. Both would be amazing!

What competitions do you have in the pipeline?

My next competition will be Junior World Champs in New Zealand, which I’m very excited about. And after that 2018–2019 competition will start in November, both freeride and boardercross races are on the books.

For all aspiring snowboarders out there, how should they go about getting into the sport?

If you live in the UK, visit your local dry slopes as much as possible and practice there or your local ski slopes. Always keep it fun!

--

--