Performance Report: Kevin Franzen

Marvin Amankwa-Dei
The Sweat Experience
2 min readNov 12, 2017
Kevin Franzen (Sponsored by Air Wipp)

Parkour athlete; Kevin Franzen recently performed at the Air Wipp Challenge (AWC) 2017 competition on the 4th November. A unique Parkour competition that took place at Helsingborg Arena.

I recently caught up with him to get his take on his performance.

What was your preparation like for your performance at Air Wipp Challenge?

KF: So instead of planning everything ahead like a lot of my friends have been doing for a few weeks, I really felt like I had to be at the course to start prepping. While being at the course I immediately saw how I could throw a big trick of the ramp all the way down at the course. So I started instead focusing on the other tricks I could do and how to connect them.

What stage did you reach ?

KF: started off in the qualifiers with around 65 other athletes and made it through all the way to the big competition. After that I went to finals with 5 other athletes. (Alexander Tittarenko, Dimitris Kyrdanis, Joey Adrian, Krystian Kowalewski, Erik Mukhametshin)

How was you feeling?

KF: I was incredibly happy about all of this of course! It has been a long time dream to compete against the top athletes in the world. And to be at same level just blows my mind!

Who were your notable competitors?

KF: One of my favorite athletes to train with must’ve been Jeff Garrido and Valterri Luoma-aho. But one of the coolest athletes was Joey Adrian. The guy has been an incredible role model for me and inspiration.

Could you describe your performance routine?

KF: I don’t really have a performance routine but if I had to say something I would say a lot of toilet breaks, as my nerves were at it’s highest at this point.

What attire was you wearing?

KF: I was wearing my usual adidas shorts and a Airwipp shirt since Im sponsored by them.

What was your strength during the performance ? What went well?

KF: I think my strength was that I had the power to bust out a big move in both the beginning and the end of my runs. I think my landings really showed that I have control over my movement.

What obstacles/challenges did you face?

KF: The biggest challenge was making my final run. I really didn’t expect making it that far so I didn’t really plan one. But with the help of Joey Adrian I managed to plan something.

What competitions will you be performing at next?

KF: Plans for future competitions are big. Right now I’m gonna focus on traveling as much as possible and spread my name. And if any competitions comes up I will try to compete in them.

Kevin in action at AWC 2017:

--

--