Zach Wheeler Interview

Marvin Amankwa-Dei
The Sweat Experience
3 min readMay 22, 2018

I recently caught up with upcoming golfer Zach Wheeler. At 7 years old, he has big aspirations to achieve in the sport of Golf.

When did you start out in Golf?

At the age of 16 months I took to golf with a left handed golf club was a few weeks until we bought a Golf club age 3 & cut it right down to fit.

Why did you get into Golf?

My dad plays golf. I use to want to pick up my dads clubs & hit a ball in the garden so my parents bought me my first plastic set at 16 months but I had a good swing on me so I was soon upgraded to a proper club cut down to fit.

Where is your hometown?

Fareham, Hampshire in the UK

Who are your idols ?

Tiger Woods

What is your big dream as a golfer?

Got a golf scholarship at the age of 4 – youngest in the UK carry on with that & entering into competitions. To take up the scholarship offer in America at 16 & to make it pro by 18 & into the big competitions touring around the world.

What is your most favourite thing about playing golf?

Arriving at the course early in the morning seeing it empty & hearing the birds chirping. The challenges around the golf course or hitting those amazing shots & sinking those long putts.

You recently got a bronze medal at the US Kids Golf Tour. How was it to compete in a different country? Also how do you think you performed?

A great experience to play in a different county & getting to play against American kids who were just so friendly. I didn’t play a great game. Warming up on the range & putting & chipping practice I played so well after the first 2 holes on the course it all went to pot. I was missing putts that I shouldn’t have been & my overall score I should have easily shaved 8 points off. I know I was playing awful to & that seemed to make my game worse

Zach Wheeler with Bronze medal (Centre)

Which part of your game do you think you need to work on the most to be a better golf player?

My putting, it use to be the best part about a year ago but not anymore.

What competitions do you have coming up this year?

Adidas wee wonders

British junior golf tour @ Bradford On Avon & Brighton

Uk kids world qualifier & grand national in Northamptonshire

European junior tour in Bournemouth & Silvermere

US Kids Championship at Caltic Manor

--

--