Childhood Days In Old Singapore

Summer Lotus
the sweet life
Published in
6 min readMay 21, 2020

--

A very ordinary and carefree childhood in the 60s but a sweet life……

Near CBD, Elgin Bridge over Singapore River. Postcard by S.W. S’PORE

The good old days of the sixties in Singapore were rekindled when I was looking through my old albums to select, organize, and discard some old photos. My family has a common trait- we all love to take photos. Though we were not rich, we still manage to go to the studios to have a family portrait now and then. I am glad that we had photos to remind us of our past.

I come from a family of seven siblings and my oldest brother is about twenty years older than me so I must be an accidental child. I remembered sleeping between my parents back in the sixties due to the lack of space which accounts for me being the youngest child. My other four siblings slept in two double-deckers in the next room and two more slept on the living room floor close to the kitchen. The flat at Owen road has been demolished by now.

Singapore which was then a backwater had no natural resources other than the people. She was about to go through many social and political changes under our able founding father Mr. Lee Kuan Yew.

He was our role model, the epitome of intelligence and wisdom, and a symbol of what you can achieve with hard work and foresight. Ours was a meritocratic society and there was no free lunch so we became hardworking if we wanted the good life.

--

--

Summer Lotus
the sweet life

My Chinese name. Inspired by mundane events to write to become more self aware. Challenge seeker, lover of sports, dental surgeon, ardent Toastmaster.