You’re On Your Own, Kid…

One of the most heartwarming Taylor Swift’s songs

Pau Miller
The Swifties Blog
5 min readMar 10, 2024

--

Photo by Sincerely Media on Unsplash

Since the “Midnights” album came out in October 2022, something inside me changed… the reason?

The song “You’re On Your Own, Kid”

On the day of the release of “Midnights” album, obviously, like every swiftie, I took my time and listened to each song on the album, listening song by song at some point I came to this song called “You’re On Your Own, Kid.”, the name of the song caught my attention just by reading its title without having listened to it yet, I was able to think “Oh, I think this will be one of my favorites !”, and sure enough, I listened to it once and since then, there is not a day that goes by without me listening to this song.

This song has been constantly on repeat on my Spotify like it is definitely one of my most listened Taylor Swift’s songs.

But what is this Taylor’s song about?

“You’re On Your Own, Kid” is the track number 5 on the album and Taylor fans know that the song that occupies fifth place on her albums is by far the most intimate and special for her. This is a song in which Taylor sings to a young version of herself, encouraging her to keep going despite all the obstacles, and implying that at the end of the day, she only has herself to succeed. That feeling that Taylor Swift is talking to a younger version of herself by using the word “kid” combines affection, tenderness, and also a certain condescension. Her adult version has now the knowledge that as a young girl she did not have, because it is knowledge born from life itself. From there she launches what at first can be taken as a warning, “You are alone in this”, but which ends up being nothing more than an almost reassuring statement, “You are alone in this, and it is okay.”

So, although the very title of “You’re On Your Own, Kid” seems like a cruel reminder about loneliness, it becomes an anthem that invites us to find the beauty in being alone, to realize that despite being surrounded by people who care and a few others who don’t, having yourself is more than enough. Therefore, this song offers a reflection on resilience and the importance of forging our own path, resonating with listeners who have faced or are facing their own transition towards independence. The lyrics convey a clear and direct message, urging us not to depend on others to find our happiness and success, highlighting the importance of finding our own identity and following our dreams, regardless of the expectations or opinions of others. It reminds us that we are capable of facing any challenge that comes our way and weather our own storms.

But how can a song that talks about being alone make us feel accompanied at the same time?

When I don’t feel well emotionally and I listen to this song, I always wonder how it gives me that feeling of relief and calm, and, although it may sound contradictory to the name of the song, it somehow makes me feel accompanied. I think that the raw emotion in Taylor’s voice allows listeners to feel truly understood in their own experiences of “going at it alone.” There’s a universality in loneliness that lets us find common ground. It is so beautiful to think how even a song about being alone can make you feel accompanied in the human condition. The music builds connection and community across space and time, songs like this one validate solitary periods as necessary for growth. By sharing vulnerabilities, Taylor encourages empathy and demonstrates we’re never quite as alone as we may feel.

Photo by Mauricio Sabino on Unsplash

Everything mentioned above, the beautiful meaning of this song, and the melancholic melody is what makes “You’re On Your Own, Kid” one of my favorite Taylor’s songs, it has been since the album came out in 2022. Also, this song was the origin of the now well-known tradition of making and exchanging friendship bracelets at the Eras Tour concerts due to the part of the song that says:

“So make the friendship bracelets, take the moment and taste it” Isn’t that beautiful?

I don’t expect anyone to agree with what I say, it’s simply my opinion. For me, this song has been and continues to be my safe place when I feel like I can’t take it anymore and it has helped me move forward. Somehow this song reminds me that despite what happens at the end of the day it’s just me, I only have myself, I’m all I have, but not in the bad sense, you know? But rather just in a way that makes me see that being alone is not a bad thing.

I think my favorite part of the song is this:

“You’ve got no reason to be afraid

You’re on your own, kid

Yeah, you can face this

You’re on your own, kid

You always have been”

I just love how that final part of the song always gives me the courage to keep going because it’s like “You’re alone, but you can handle it.”

This song reminds us that we are the authors of our own stories and that if you don’t like where this era is going, it’s okay to start a new one.

It makes you realize you are everything and more just on your own…

And, I would like to say that if someday I get a tattoo I would like it to be the phrase “You’re On Your Own, Kid”, because of the way it has marked me and how it has left a footprint in my life.

--

--