How to Be the Ultimate Slacker

Living with ‘to rest syndrome’

Lee Serpa Azevado
The Swipe

--

Photo by Sam Solomon on Unsplash

I’m not the kind of writer to throw my weights around willy nilly. Do I do gym puns? No, weigh! Nor do I believe making jokes about treadmills will get me anywhere. So, if you think a physical workout is more importanter than a mental workout, go join your local gym. You’ll find no such tomfoolery in any of my stories.

If you’ve recently joined the gym, and you’re anything like me, cancel that membership as soon as possible!

“Why?” I hear you ask.

Because my friend, going to the gym is akin to entering an alien world, where the beautiful bemuse and the lazy schmooze. I never thought I’d be the type of person to wake up at 6 in the morning to exercise. I was right.

Being a slacker has provided me with a failed marriage, a mental breakdown, bankruptcy, and a side-gig as a writer. Now, you don’t get those kind of results from lifting weights!

Like a newbie at a gym, to be an effective slacker, it is of the utmost importance you avoid doing stuff. I know…

--

--

Lee Serpa Azevado
The Swipe

Scribbler of stuff, psychotherapist, giant punsexual, pronouns: fee-fie/foe-fum. Mental health(y), humo(u)r, politic(k)s and other such no(n)sense.