Writing as a Part of Career Development

How writing can take your career forward

Eric
The Talent Shark

--

Photo by Tyler Franta on Unsplash

I’m a huge fan of writing. For those who’ve worked with me or spoken with me on their career development, they will tell you that I would always recommend writing as a part of their personal development.

To make up for my lack of experience as a fresh grad, one of the first pieces of advice I got from my mentor in my first job was to:

“Keep reading to make up for your lack of experience, and start writing to build your own opinion”.

As a fresh grad, it was difficult to sit down and hit the books again. Especially when you just got out of school and are gearing to go make a mark for yourself in the working world.

I did take that advice. Five years later. The thing about advice from others, you don’t move until it hurts. For me, I did my first article in June 2007, about 15 years ago. As I look back at that first writing, I cringed. Let’s just say, I’ve come a long way from that first article I wrote.

Over the years, I’ve written on various topics on HR and Talent. This aligns with my career in HR. Looking back, my articles had helped with my personal brand had positioned me as an HR Thought leader in the industry.

Here are 3 reasons why writing is…

--

--

Eric
The Talent Shark

HR Practitioner for over 20 years in IT, Pharmaceutical, Medical, and Consumer Healthcare. Currently the Head of Talent at a Consumer Healthcare Company.