How I Became A Paid Food Critic (And How You Can, Too)

Someone’s gotta eat all that food. Might as well be us.

Ossiana Tepfenhart
The Tasteful Toast
Published in
6 min readJul 29, 2022

--

photo of the author during a critique job

So, for a brief time, I worked at Mashed. I also still work at Food And Drink Magazine, have acted as the “Moodie Foodie” for MetNights, and also published tons of stuff regarding food on a wide range of different platforms.

Today, I’m still paid to write about food. In effect, I’ve been paid to eat at least three times this year — with the meal covered in full. Most of my other meals out are partially paid off. My cookbooks also pay for themselves.

So, what gives?

In a world where eating has started to look like more of a luxury, the truth is that you have to get creative. When I was homeless, I started to realize that I’d never go hungry if I wrote about food professionally. So, I became a food writer.

Contrary to popular belief, I never went to culinary school.

It’s true. I never went to culinary school, and I dropped out of college after having a nervous meltdown. So, if you thought that you need culinary training to be the next food writer, think again. I learned on-the-job.

Here’s how I did it…

--

--

Ossiana Tepfenhart
The Tasteful Toast

I’m a weirdo who loves to write. Deal with it. Available for hire. Instagram @ossiana.makes.content