The One Note to Rule Them All

Mashal Waqar
The Tempest
Published in
3 min readJan 4, 2017
A note from July 2016 when I was applying for the Fall ’16 fellowship. The date was because I was unsure if I’d get in and the to-do list was me prepping in advance if I did get accepted.

The first week of 2017 also marks my first week as the CTO and co-founder of The Tempest. 2016 has been a great year for us. We hit milestones and targets that were initially considered too ambitious for us by detractors, and we’ve grown to span a group of over 700 writers and a readership that spans over 230 countries.

700 diverse voices. 230 countries.

Take a minute to let that sink in.

I initially joined The Tempest’s bad-ass team of boss ladies as a fellow, but quickly rose in the ranks as the managing team recognized my potential. That progressed to working with different sections and departments, and I soon realized this fellowship was easily my best decision of 2016.

My passion for female empowerment and writing gelled well with everything The Tempest stands for.

That’s why when Laila asked me join as her partner in crime, my “YES” was a no-brainer. To me, it’s a match made in heaven: I get to combine my tech knowledge and experience I’ve garnered for something I so vehemently believe in. Calling this an ideal job would be undermining how strongly I feel about it. This is the right role for me — for the first time, work doesn’t feel like work anymore. That’s how much I enjoy it.

With startups, you need a well-rounded balance of skills and the invariable flexibility to be able to transient from one role to another as and when needed.

This is where my prior work experience comes in handy, because I can effectively utilize my marketing, tech, and security background.

As I assume my new role, I have begun work on integrating new technologies to ensure they mesh seamlessly with all the departments. We already follow a lean startup model, maintaining a shoestring monthly burn rate, and are committed to consistently working on bringing The Tempest to the next level. I believe in aiming high and producing results, and I’m confident that we will prove this in a timely manner. We’re in the midst of finalizing this quarter’s goals and the plan is to get to action immediately.

From a broader perspective, we also plan to grow with a more international focus this year. Working from Dubai allows me to be at the center of cultural diversity and to reach out and directly work with a global network of influencers, contributors, and audience.

You can’t force love or passion. It is or it isn’t.

In an age where we need the The Tempest more than ever, I see our company moving in full swing to becoming an established powerhouse empowering millions of diverse women. You can’t force love or passion. It is or it isn’t. That’s why I consider it both an honor and a privilege to work in the role I want, for a company that I love and a mission I am passionate about.

Years from now, I want to look back at this note and feel proud at what we’ve accomplished in comparison.

We are evolving now, faster than ever, and I’m excited to be part of this change.

Let’s bring on the storm.

-Mashal

--

--

Mashal Waqar
The Tempest

Forbes Middle East 30 U 30 | Serial entrepreneur, whatever that means.